About Us

The North Shore National Salon of Photography was established in 1995 by the North Shore Photographic Society (NSPS). The NSPS created the Salon to promote the art of photography in New Zealand through a prestigious, national photographic event each year.

The NSPS, which was founded in 1954, now has about 150 members, ranging from amateurs to professionals and from beginners to experts. Affiliated with the Photographic Society of New Zealand (PSNZ), it is part of a network of photographic clubs and societies across New Zealand.

Each year, the NSPS has run a competition for New Zealand photographers, with the 2016 Salon attracting 2107 entries from entrants including members of 41 photographic clubs and societies from Whangarei to Southland and overseas. The Salon convenes independent panels of selectors to judge entries in various categories, with accepted prints and digital images being publicly exhibited at Mairangi Bay Arts Centre, and all accepted photographs are reproduced in an attractive catalogue.

Entrants to the Salon's competitions are typically amateur photographers from photographic clubs and societies, although the Salon is open to professionals and club membership is not a requirement. In fact, in recent years we have had a good number of first-time entrants that are not affiliated to these organisations.

2017 Salon Committee
 
Chairman: John Botton chairman@northshoresalon.co.nz 0211321691
Secretary: Janet Munnings secretary@northshoresalon.co.nz 094264191
Catalogue Production: Libby Hitchings catalogue@northshoresalon.co.nz 094436902
Logistics: John Bell logistics@northshoresalon.co.nz +64 9 4242291
Treasurer: Glenn Keelty treasurer@northshoresalon.co.nz
Facebook editor: Peter Arnold facebook@northshoresalon.co.nz
IT Systems: Phil Thornton support@northshoresalon.co.nz +6421425219
Webmaster: Caroline Ludford webmaster@northshoresalon.co.nz 021 958 404
Judge Convenor: Peter Arnold judges@northshoresalon.co.nz
Trophies and Certificates: Peter Arnold awards@northshoresalon.co.nz
Entries Coordinator: Shoan Rickman entries@northshoresalon.co.nz 09 424 8607